It is with tremendous pride and humility that I begin my year as the Chair of the City, County and Local Government Law Section of The Florida Bar….We are the frontline of the legal system for so many things that make our incredible government work. From working on planning, growth and development matters to assisting first responders and emergency personnel during times of crisis to assuring the orderly daily operation of normal government activities by assuring with compliance of the Public Records law and the Government in the Sunshine Act. These are but a few examples of the many ways that our members serve the public and it’s vital to remember that we all have the opportunity and the responsibility to serve to the best of our ability as local government attorneys…

Peter Sweeney headshot
Peter J. Sweeney, 2024-2025 Chair

Welcome to the Section

Welcome to the City, County and Local Government Law Section of the Florida Bar. Established in 1973, the Section is committed to providing our members with the highest quality CLEs, networking opportunities, and resources to help them be successful, knowledgeable, and effective local government law attorneys. Consistent with our Mission Statement, we are committed to upholding the highest standards of professionalism and integrity; increasing member engagement; fostering diversity, inclusion, and a strong sense of community; and empowering our members to resolve legal issues with thoughtful advocacy.

Recent News

Posted 06/20/2024 in General News

2024 CCLGL Award Winners

In case you missed it, our Photo Gallery has some nice photos from the CCLGL ...